تمر الأمواج الصوتية عبر قناة الأذن وتصل إلى قوقعة الأذن عبر الأذن الوسطى، حيث يتحول الصوت في القوقعة إلى نبضات كهربائية تمر عبر الأعصاب إلى الدماغ حيث تتم معالجة الصوت. تلعب القوقعة دوراً هاماً في القدرة على السمع، وهي تتكون من ثلاث قنوات صغيرة مملوءة بسائل، حيث يمر الصوت الوارد عبر السائل ويحرض آلاف الشعيرات المتموضعة فوق خلايا شعيرية، وبعد ذلك تقوم الخلايا الشعيرية بتحويل الطاقة الميكانيكية إلى نبضات كهربائية تحرض الألياف العصبية. عندما تتأذى الخلايا الشعيرية أو تُفقد جزئياً فإن السمع يضعف، ويمكن المساعدة في هذه الحالة باستخدام مساعدات السمع التقليدية، لكن عندما تتأذى الخلايا الشعيرية أو تُفقد كلياً فإنه يحدث فقدان شديد للسمع رغم كون الألياف العصبية سليمة لكنها لا تتلقى أية نبضات كهربائية، وفي هذه الحالة فإن أطباء الأذن والأنف والحنجرة ينصحون بإجراء زراعة القوقعة للمساعدة على استعادة السمع.

كيف يعمل جهاز زراعة القوقعة؟

يقوم الطبيب الجراح بإدخال إلكترود أعمق ما يمكن في القوقعة، ويضع الجهاز المزروع تحت الجلد وراء الأذن، حيث يتموضع المرسل الخارجي تماماً فوق الجهاز الداخلي المزروع. ينتقل الصوت عبر الجلد ويقوم الميكروفون بالتقاط الصوت وإرساله إلى كمبيوتر صغير (معالج الكلام أو معالج الأصوات)، حيث يقوم معالج الأصوات هذا بتحويل الصوت الوارد وإرساله عبر الجلد إلى مجموعة من الإلكترودات المتراصفة بجانب بعضها. بهذه الطريقة يتم نقل الصوت اصطناعياً إلى العصب السمعي.

زراعة القوقعة في ايران

توضيح بسيط لكيفية عمل زراعة القوقعة.

مخاطر زراعة القوقعة وآثارها الجانبية

هناك عصبان يمران وراء الأذن (العصب الوجهي وعصب الذوق)، حيث يقوم العصب الوجهي بتغذية كافة العضلات على ذلك الجانب من الوجه بما يمكّن الشخص من إغلاق عينيه والابتسام ورفع حواجبه، كما أن عصب الذوق ينقل الإشارات الكهربائية من النهايات العصبية في اللسان إلى الدماغ لتحقيق حاسة الذوق، وهناك خطر طفيف جداً في إيذاء هذين العصبين وراء الأذن أثناء العملية الجراحية، وإذا تأذى العصب الوجهي فقد يؤدي هذا إلى ضعف عضلات الوجه. رغم أن نسبة الخطورة ضئيلة جداً فمن الأهمية بمكان أن يتم تحذير المريض منها، ولمراقبة هذا العصب أثناء العملية الجراحية توضع بعض الإبر الصغيرة جداً في الوجه؛ واحدة على زاوية الفم وأخرى فوق العين تماماً، وعندما يتم انتزاع هذه الإبر يمكن أن تؤدي إلى رض بسيط عادةً ما يتعافى في غضون أسبوع.

زراعة القوقعة في إيران

يمكن إجراء زراعة القوقعة لكلٍّ من الأطفال والبالغين تبعاً لحالة السمع لديهم.

قد يكون الوصول إلى القوقعة صعباً، فإذا كانت المسافة بين العصب الوجهي وعصب الذوق صغيرة جداً بحيث يصعب على الطبيب الجراح المرور عبرها فقد يتضرر عصب الذوق أو يتعرض للرض، وقد يؤدي هذا الضرر إلى إحساس ذوق غير طبيعي في اللسان على الجانب الذي يتم إجراء العملية عليه نحو مقدمة اللسان، حيث سيتحسن هذا ويعود إلى طبيعته لكنه قد يستغرق عدة أشهر.

هذه الآثار الجانبية للعملية قليلة الحدوث، حيث أجرى العديد من المرضى عمليات زراعة القوقعة لديهم لأول مرة منذ سنوات وما يزالون يستفيدون منها، وستترك العملية ندبةً خلف الأذن لكنها تشفى بشكل جيد، وعادةً ما تصبح بالكاد مرئية بعد عام من العملية.

التحضير لعملية زراعة القوقعة

يحتاج المريض في البداية إلى فحوصات كاملة، وهذا يتطلب عدداً من المواعيد والنقاشات مع الطبيب، وإذا خلص الطبيب إلى أن زراعة القوقعة هي خيار أفضل للمريض من مساعدت السمع التقليدية فمن الأهمية بمكان أن يأخذ المريض لقاحاً ضد التهاب السحايا قبل إجراء العملية، فالقوقعة قريبة جداً من الدماغ وبالتالي هناك نسبة خطر ضئيلة لحدوث التهاب السحايا بعد العملية، ولجعل هذا الخطر في حده الأدنى يُطلب من المريض أن يأخذ اللقاح قبل أسبوع على الأقل من إجراء العملية.

طريقة إجراء عملية زراعة القوقعة

عادةً ما يتم إجراء العملية تحت التخدير العام، ولهذا يطلب من المريض أن يتوقف عن تناول الطعام والشراب قبل العملية بوقت يحدِّده الطبيب. وتبعاً للحالة التشريحية لمنطقة الأذن وما وراءها لدى كل مريض قد تستغرق العملية من ساعة ونصف إلى ثلاث ساعات.

تبدأ العملية بإجراء شق في الجلد والأنسجة الرخوة، وحالما يظهر العظم الذي وراء الأذن يتابع الطبيب الجراح خلال هذا العظم للوصول إلى فراغ الأذن الوسطى، وبعد ذلك يتم وضع الجهاز المزروع خلف الأذن من خلال جرح صغير، وهو جهاز صغير يتم وضعه تحت الجلد مقابل العظم خلف الأذن. يجب على الطبيب الجراح أن يمر بين العصب الوجهي وعصب الذوق حتى يصل إلى القوقعة، وبعد ذلك يجب فتح فتحة صغيرة في القوقعة وإدخال إلكترود (هو عبارة عن سلك صغير بطول حوالي سنتيمترين) فيها بحذر شديد، وبعد أن ينهي الطبيب الجراح وضع الجزء الداخلي من زراعة القوقعة تحت الجلد وداخل القوقعة فإنه يخيط الجرح خلف الأذن.

مكان إجراء عملية زراعة القوقعة

منطقة ما وراء الأذن حيث يتم إجراء الجرح الصغير من أجل زراعة القوقعة.

العناية بالمريض بعد عملية زراعة القوقعة

قد يشعر المريض بالدوار وبعدم التوازن بعد العملية مباشرةً بسبب الاضطراب في الأذن الداخلية، وهذا بسبب إدخال الجهاز المزروع أو حدوث رد فعل لأدوية التخدير، وفي هذه الحالة يمكن إعطاء المريض أدوية تساعد في التخفيف من الشعور بالدوار، وعادةً ما يتحسن كل هذا في غضون عدة أيام ويستعيد المريض شعوره الطبيعي. يعاني بعض المرضى من طنين في الأذن، وإذا لم يكن المريض يعاني أبداً من الطنين من قبل فقد يعاني منه بعد العملية، وعادةً ما يتحسن هذا في غضون عدة أيام وأحياناً يختفي نهائياً عندما يتم تشغيل الجهاز المزروع.

جراحة زراعة القوقعة

الأجزاء الأساسية لغرسة القوقعة وملحقاتها

هناك خطر بسيط لحدوث إنتان، ولهذا يعطى المريض مضادات حيوية مع السيروم أثناء العملية طالما هو مخدَّر، وأحياناً يعطى المريض جرعات إضافية منها بعد العملية وهو في المشفى، وفي بعض الأحيان يعطى المريض أقراصاً مضادة للالتهاب ليتناولها في المنزل.

زراعة القوقعة عند الأطفال

ضعف السمع عند الأطفال يؤدي إلى تأخرهم في النطق، ولهذا يجب على الأهل أن يفحصوا طفلهم الذي يلاحظون أنه لا يستجيب للنداء أو أنه يرفع صوت التلفاز كثيراً، فالكشف المبكر عن ضعف السمع لدى الأطفال ضروري وخاصةً في السن المبكر أي قبل تعلم الطفل للكلام، فعدم قدرة الطفل على السمع يجعله غير قادر على الكلام مما يجبره على التواصل بالإشارات. إذا كان ضعف السمع ناتجاً عن مشكلة في الأذن الداخلية (الصمم الحسي العصبي) فإنه تتم محاولة تقوية السمع باستخدام مساعدات السمع مثل السماعات، فإن لم تنجح هذه الطريقة فإن الحل المتبقي لتحسين السمع هو زراعة القوقعة.

يتم إجراء جراحة زراعة القوقعة للأطفال على ناحية واحدة وينبغي مراعاة أن يكون الطفل سليماً من كافة النواحي الأخرى، وبعد الجراحة يحتاج الطفل إلى التدريب ليتمكن من ترجمة الذبذبات الكهربائية لأصوات مفهومة، وبعد ذلك يخضع لجلسات تخاطب. وقد تبين أن زراعة القوقعة للأطفال الذين يعانون من ضعف حاد في السمع قد أسهمت إيجابياً في تعلمهم للكلام، وهذا يجعل من المرجَّح جداً أن يتم تعليمهم بشكل طبيعي دون الحاجة لتعليمهم بلغة الإشارة، وقد غدت زراعة القوقعة واحدةً من المعاملات التكنولوجية والاجتماعية التي أدت إلى تقلُّص استخدام لغة الإشارة في الدول المتقدمة.

بالنسبة للأطفال الصم بالولادة تعتبر زراعة القوقعة أكثر فعالية عند إجرائها لهم في سن مبكر بينما يكون دماغهم ما يزال في طور تعلُّم تفسير الأصوات، حيث تصل فعالية زراعة القوقعة إلى 90 بالمائة إذا تم إجراؤها لطفل في سن خمس سنوات أو أقل، وكلما تأخر إجراؤها تضعف فعاليتها حتى تصل إلى حوالي 15 بالمائة.

زراعة القوقعة في ايران

لقد تطور طب الأذن والأنف والحنجرة في إيران بشكل متسارع جداً خلال السنوات الأخيرة، وإيران هي الدولة الأولى في آسيا وواحدة من أوائل الدول في العالم في استخدام التقنيات الأكثر تقدماً في العمليات الجراحية للأذن. كما أن إيران هي الرابعة عالمياً في إنتاج غرسات القوقعة القابلة للشحن، ويوجد حالياً 11 مركزاً طبياً في إيران يتم فيها إجراء عمليات زراعة القوقعة، ومع متخصصي الأذن والأنف والحنجرة ذوي الخبرة العالية ومع المشافي التخصصية الحديثة تعتبر إيران نشيطة جداً في عمليات زراعة القوقعة (وقد تم تقدير أنه قد تم إلى الآن إجراء حوالي 1500 عملية زراعة قوقعة في إيران). من الواضح أن انخفاض كلفة جراحة زراعة القوقعة في ايران يشكل أيضاً معاملاً هاماً للمرضى الأجانب الذين يرغبون بإجراء مثل هذه العملية خارج بلدانهم.

عملية زراعة القوقعة في إيران

يوجد حالياً 11 مركزاً طبياً يتم فيها إجراء عمليات زراعة القوقعة في ايران بأحدث الطرق العالمية.

تكلفة عملية زراعة القوقعة في ايران

هناك معاملات تساهم في تحديد التكلفة النهائية لجراحة زراعة القوقعة بما في ذلك جودة الأجهزة المزروعة وخبرة الجراح وعدد الأيام التي يبقى المريض خلالها تحت المراقبة في المشفى وأخيراً كلفة الفحوصات التي يتم إجراؤها قبل العملية الجراحية. تبدأ تكلفة جراحة زراعة القوقعة في ايران من 5,000$ وهي أخفض بكثير من تكلفة العملية المماثلة في أوربا أو تركيا أو الدول العربية المجاورة، فكلفة جراحة زراعة القوقعة قد تصل في أسترالياً مثلاً إلى حوالي 3,000 دولار استرالي، وعملية زراعة القوقعة في الولايات المتحدة قد تكلف حتى 50,000$، ولهذا السبب يسافر العديد من المرضى من هذه الدول إلى إيران ليستفيدوا من الأسعار المعقولة لعمليات زراعة القوقعة في ايران.

sound waves travel through the ear canal and reach the cochlea via the middle ear. In the cochlea the sound wave is transformed into electrical pulses which travel down the nerves to the brain, then the sound is processed. the cochlea plays an important role in the hearing ability. It consists of three little channels filled with fluid. The incoming sound wave travels through the fluid and stimulates thousands of hairs on the top of the hair cells. Then the hair cells convert the mechanical energy into electrical impulses which stimulate the nerve fibers. When the hair cells are partially absent or damaged, hearing is impaired. This condition can be helped with conventional hearing aids. when the hair cells are completely absent or damaged a severe to profound hearing loss occurs, usually the nerve fibers are intact but they cannot receive electrical impulses. In this condition, cochlear implants can help.

How a cochlear implant device functions?

The surgeon inserts the electrode into the cochlea as deeply as possible. He places the implant under the skin behind the ear. The external transmitter fits exactly over the internal implant. The sound is transmitted through the skin, the microphone picks up the sound and sends it to a small computer (the speech processor). the speech processor transforms the incoming sound and sends it through the intact skin to the electrode array. Speech and sounds are transmitted to the hearing nerve artificially.

cochlear implant's function

A simple illustration of how a cochlear implant works

Cochlear implants’ risks and side effects

There are two nerves running behind the ear (facial nerve and taste nerve). The facial nerve supplies all the muscles of the face on that side that enable the person to close eyes, to smile or to raise the eyebrows and the taste nerve. There is a small risk of damage to these nerves behind the ear during the operation. If the facial nerve is damaged, it can cause weakness of the muscles. Although this risk is very small, it is important that the patient be warned about it. To monitor this nerve during the operation, some tiny needles are put into the face one at the corner of the mouth and one just above the eye. When these needles are taken out, it can lead to some bruising which usually settles over a week or so.

cochlear implants in adults

Both children and adults can be candidates for cochlear implants depending on their hearing conditions

Accessing the cochlea can be difficult, if the narrow gap between the facial nerve and the taste nerve be so small that makes it hard for the surgeon to get through, then sometimes the taste nerve is damaged or bruised. That damage would result in an abnormal taste sensation on the tongue on the side of the operation towards the front of the tongue. That will resolve and settle down but it can take a few months.

Many patients who had their first implant more than years ago and they’re still getting benefit from it. The patient is looked after during the surgery by the anesthesia team. This involves having a small tube placed through the patient’s mouth and into the patient’s windpipe, so he or she can breathe while asleep. A brief sore throat for a few days after the operation in some patients might occur but it is because of the breathing tube. After the surgery, there will be a scar behind the ear but it heals very well and usually, after about a year it will be barely visible.

Preparation for cochlear implant surgery

first of all, the patient needs to go through a full assessment. This involves a number of appointments and discussions. If the surgeon concludes that a cochlear implantation is a better option for the patient than the conventional hearing aids, then in the stage, it is important that the patient get vaccinated against meningitis before surgery. The cochlea is close to the brain and therefore, there’s a very slightly increased risk of meningitis after the operation. to minimize this risk, the patient is asked to have the vaccination at least a week before the surgery. Also, the patient general health is checked prior to the surgery. The patient also is asked to fill out and sign a consent form about the risks and the benefits of the surgery, so that there will be a formal agreement to proceed with the operation.

Cochlear implantation procedure

The operation is typically performed under general anesthesia. The anesthesiologists will put the patient off to sleep, so the patient does not feel any pain. it is important that the patient fast before the surgery and the patient be given adequate instructions as to when to stop eating and drinking. Depending on the patient and the anatomy, the operation can take anything from one and a half to three hours for each ear. Then the area behind the patient’s ear is prepared by shaving some of the hair.

cochlear implant surgery

The back of the ear is where incesion is made for an cochlear implantation

This is so to keep the area as sterile as possible. when everything is ready, a cut is made through the skin and the soft tissues. once the bone behind the ear is exposed the surgeon go through that bone to access the middle ear in the cochlea to access the middle ear space. Then the cochlear implant device is placed behind the ear through a small surgical incision. It’s composed of a small device that sits underneath the skin. It sits against the bone behind the ear. The surgeon has to go between the facial and the taste nerves to access the cochlea. Then a small opening is placed into the cochlea and an electrode is inserted very carefully into the cochlea (a small wire about two centimeters in length). Once the surgeon places the internal component of the cochlear implants underneath the skin and into the cochlea, he/she sutures up the skin behind the ear.

Cochlear implantation post-op care  

Immediately after the operation, because of disturbance of the inner ear from inserting the implant or sometimes having a reaction to the anesthetic drugs, the patient might feel dizzy and may have an unbalanced feeling. Either way, the patient can be given medicines that help reduce nausea and the sickness feeling. Usually, over a few days, this will all settle down and the patient will feel back to normal. Tinnitus is a noise in the ears that some people experience. If the person has never had tinnitus before, he or she may experience it after the operation. Usually, it settles over a few days and sometimes when the implant is switched on, it goes away completely.

There is a small risk of infection for which the patient is given antibiotics through the drip during the operation whilst he or she is asleep. sometimes the patient is also given a couple more doses after the surgery whilst the patient is still in the hospital. Occasionally the patient is given oral antibiotics to go home with.

Cochlear implants in Iran

ENT specialty has developed very quickly in Iran over the past several years. Iran is the first country in Asia and one of the first countries in the world that uses the most advanced technologies in ear treatment surgeries. Currently, 11 medical centers in Iran offer cochlear implant surgeries. With its highly-experienced ENT specialists and modern hospitals, Iran is currently very active in cochlear implantation; (It is estimated that some 1500 cochlear implants are currently being performed in Iran). Obviously, the decline in the cost of cochlear implantation surgery in Iran is also an important factor for foreign patients who want to have such surgery abroad.

cochlear implantation in Iran

There are currently 11 medical centers in Iran that offer cochlear implantation surgeries using the state-of-the-art methods

Cochlear implants cost in Iran

There are factors that contribute to the ultimate price of a cochlear implant surgery including the quality of the implanted devices, the experience of the surgeon, the number of days that the patient stays and is monitored in the hospital and finally the cost of pre-op tests that are conducted before the surgery. The cost of a cochlear implant surgery in Iran starts from $5000 which is greatly lower than that of a similar procedure in Europe, Turkey, and the neighboring Arab countries. The cost of a cochlear implant surgery in Australia can sometimes reach up to 30,000 Australian dollars. In the U.S., the cost of cochlear implantation can cost up to $50,000. For this reason, each year many patients from these countries travel to Iran to benefit from affordable prices of cochlear implant surgeries.