سحب الماء الابيض
في ايران

نساعدك في تحسين نظرك لدى أفضل جراحي العيون في

أحدث المستشفيات بأسعار معقولة جداً

هل تعاني من نزول الماء الابيض في العين أو الكتاراكت أو ما يعرف أيضاً باسم الساد وتبحث عن افضل خيار لإجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض في ايران ضمن إمكانياتك وفي حدود ميزانيتك؟ إننا نساعدك على القيام بهذا من خلال تنظيم رحلتك وترتيبات عمليتك في افضل المستشفيات ولدى امهر الاطباء الذين لديهم فوق تخصص في طب العيون. لا داعي للقلق حيال إزعاجات السفر، فنحن نقف إلى جانبك من لحظة وصولك إلى ايران حتى تغادر هذا البلد. كل ما عليك القيام به هو ملء النموذج أعلاه من أجل الحصول على استشارة وعرض سعر مجانيين. تابع القراءة لتعرف المزيد عن عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين.

عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين في ايران: كل ما تحتاج معرفته

ببساطة تشير عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين إلى جراحة العيون التي تهدف إلى إزالة عدسة العين عندما تُعتم وزرع عدسة مكانها. تعمل عدسة العين على توجيه أشعة الضوء بالشكل المناسب الذي يمكِّنك من الرؤية. والإصابة بمرض الماء الابيض في العيون تجعلك تبدو وكأنك تنظر دائماً عبر زجاج متسخ أو ضبابي، وهذا أمر غير مريح بالطبع.

أثناء عملية الماء الابيض للعين تتم إزالة عدسك المعتمة من قِبل طبيب العيون المتخصص واستبدالها بعدسة اصطناعية، وعادةً ما يُنظر إلى هذه العملية على أنها عملية جراحية طفيفة مع الحد الأدنى من الآثار الجانبية، والمعامل الأهم في الحصول على أعلى نسبة نجاح عملية الماء الابيض هو خبرة الطبيب ومهارته، وبالتالي ليس عليك القلق كثيراً حيال هذه العملية إن كنتَ مطمئناً إلى خبرة طبيبك.

هل عليَّ أن أجري عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين؟


إذا كنتَ تعاني من ضبابية في الرؤية وصعوبة في الرؤية بوضوح فعليك أن تفحص عينيك، وإذا أكد الطبيب إصابتك بمرض الماء الابيض أو الساد فمن الافضل أن تجري العملية بأسرع ما يمكن. وفي حال كانت هذه المشكلة في كلتا العينين فإنه ينبغي إجراء عملية منفصلة لكل عين بحيث تفصل بين العمليتين عدة أسابيع.

عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين

مقارنة بين العين السليمة والعين المصابة بالماء الابيض

ما الذي أتوقعه قبل عملية الماء الابيض؟

قبل إجراء عملية الماء الابيض على العين سيقوم دكتور العيون بسؤال المريض عن الأدوية التي يتناولها، وقد يطلب منه التوقف عن تناول بعض الادوية في بعض الحالات، كما قد يصف له قطرات للعين لعدة أيام قبل العملية من أجل الوقاية من الالتهابات والعدوى وتقليل احتمال حدوث تورم أثناء و بعد اجراء عملية الماء الابيض.

كيف تتم عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين؟

في يوم إجراء العملية قد يُطلب من المريض عدم تناول أية أطعمة صلبة لمدة 6 ساعات قبل موعد إجراء العملية، وسيتم تخدير العين المصابة إما باستخدام قطرات العيون أو بالحقن بجانب العين.

قد تعطى للمريض أدوية لمساعدته على الاسترخاء، حيث سيكون المريض مستيقظاً أثناء العملية وواعياً لبعض الحركات والضوء رغم عدم قدرته على مشاهدة ما يفعله الطبيب في العين، لهذا ليس هناك ما يستحق القلق بشأنه!

في عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين يتم فتح فتحة صغيرة جداً في العين يتم من خلالها سحب عدسة العين الطبيعية التي أصبحت معتمة واستبدالها بعدسة صناعية، وهذا ما يُدعى باسم بكامله باسم عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين وزرع العدسة.

لن يتم إجراء أية خياطة للجرح ما بعد عملية الماء الابيض، حيث ستشفى الجروح الصغيرة من تلقاء نفسها بشكل طبيعي بعد بعض الوقت، لكن ستتم تغطية العين بضماد أو واقٍ حتى يعتبر الطبيب أنه قد حان الوقت لإزالة الضماد وكشف العين.

طرق علاج الماء الابيض في العين

هناك عدة طرق لإجراء هذه العملية، والطبيب الجراح الجيد سيشرح لك الفروقات بينها ويساعدك على معرفة طريقة ازالة الماء الابيض الأنسب لحالتك.

استحلاب عدسة العين باستخدام جهاز الفاكو

الطريقة الأولى لإجراء عملية شفط الماء الابيض من العين هي استحلاب العدسة باستخدام جهاز الفاكو، وفي هذه التقنية يتم إجراء شق ناعم جداً (بعرض حوالي 3 ميلي مترات) على حافة القرنية، وبعد ذلك يتم إخراج عدسة العين المعتمة من خلال هذا الشق بتقنية فوق صوتية تدعى باستحلاب العدسة بالفاكو. بما أن الشق صغير جداً فلا حاجة لخياطته باية غرز لأنه سوف يشفى من تلقاء نفسه.

جراحة سحب الساد خارج المحفظة

تتطلب هذه التقنية شقاً أكبر (حوالي 10-12 ميلي متر) على جانب القرنية، ويتم أولاً إخراج اللب المعتم للعدسة عبر الفتحة ثم يتم تقطيع الجزء المتبقي من العدسة وإخراجه. هذه التقنية هي الأفضل من أجل المرضى الذين لديهم حالات ماء ابيض متقدمة أو من أجل أولئك الذين لا تناسبهم طريقة سحب الماء الابيض من العين بالاستحلاب.

عملية الماء الابيض في العين بالليزر

إن ازالة الماء الابيض من العين بالليزر تتطلب تركيباً من علاج بالليزر واستحلاب عدسة العين. حيث يُستخدم ليزر فيمتوسكند في الخطوات الأولى من عملية سحب الماء الابيض وبالتحديد في إجراء شقوق القرنية واستحلاب وتنعيم عدسة العين، لكن الجزء الأساسي من العملية ما يزال يتم إجراؤه باستخدام الأمواج فوق الصوتية (جهاز الفاكو).

بعد أن يتم إجراء الشق و سحب الماء الابيض من العين بالليزر أو بأية طريقة أخرى عادةً ما يقوم الدكتور بإدخال عدسة صناعية في العين. إذا لم تتم زراعة العدسة فقط تعاني من مد البصر وتضطر لوضع نظارات أو عدسات لاصقة حتى تتمكن من الرؤية بوضوح.

انواع عدسات الساد التي توضع في باطن العين

تأتي عدسات الساد بثلاثة أنواع: أحادية البؤرة ومتعددة البؤرية وعدسة التأقلم، ولكلٍّ من هذه الأنواع إيجابياته في تلبية حاجات خاصة. يحتاج الأمر إلى شيء من الإسهاب من أجل الحصول على فهم أفضل لماهية عدسات الساد.

العدسات أحادية البؤرة

العدسات أحادية البؤرة هي العدسات الأكثر استخداماً بعد ازالة الماء الابيض من العين، وتتمتع هذه العدسات بمسافة تركيز واحدة يتم تحديدها بناءً على ما يفضله المريض: المسافة القريبة أو البعيدة أو المتوسطة.

تسمح العدسة أحادية البؤرة للمرضى بأن يركزوا على الأشياء الموجودة على مسافة محددة. وإذا كنتَ تعاني من الانحراف فإن عدسة قرصية (أي عدسة باطن عين يتم تشكيلها وفق شكل خاص) قد تكون خياراً أفضل من العدسة أحادية البؤرة.

من المثير للاهتمام أن تعلم أنه يمكنك الحصول على عدستين أحاديتَي البؤرة من أجل مسافتَي رؤية مختلفتين، فمثلاً يمكنك الحصول على عدسة من أجل الرؤية البعيدة وأخرى من أجل الرؤية على مسافة متوسطة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أنك إذا وضعتَ عدسة من أجل الرؤية البعيدة أو المتوسطة فستحتاج إلى وضع نظارات للقراءة أو للمسافة القريبة والعكس بالعكس. أي أنك إذا اخترتَ تحسين الرؤية القريبة فستحتاج لوضع نظارات من أجل المسافة البعيدة.

عدسات باطن العين متعددة البؤرة

مثلما يوحي اسمها فإن العدسات متعددة البؤرة تسمح بتركيز الرؤية على مسافات مختلفة. وبعد زراعة عدسات متعددة البؤرة سينخفض كثيراً احتمال أن تحتاج إلى لبس نظارات أو وضع عدسات لاصقة.

ايجابيات وسلبيات العدسات متعددة البؤرة

معظم المرضى (85%) لن يضطروا لارتداء نظارات أو وضع عدسات لاصقة بعد زراعة عدسات باطن عين متعددة البؤرة في كلتا العينين، ولهذا فإنه ينصح بهذه العدسات من أجل المرضى المصابين بالساد أو بداء الماء الأبيض في كلتا العينين، وهذه العدسات هي الأنسب من أجل الأشخاص الذين لا يعانون من أية أمراض أخرى في العينين.

غالباً ما تؤمِّن العدسات متعددة البؤرة رؤية جيدة للمسافات القريبة والبعيدة. وهذا النوع من العدسات هو الأنسب من أجل اولئك الذين يعملون على الكمبيوتر طوال اليوم على سبيل المثال.

بعض المرضى (بين 10% إلى 15%) الذي قاموا بزراعة هذا النوع من العدسات قد يعانون من توهج في الضوء أو هالات ضوء في الليل وخاصةً بعد إجراء العملية مباشرةً، لكنهم غالباً ما يؤكدون أنهم قد تمكنوا من الاعتياد عليه بعد فترة قصيرة.

عدسات التأقلم

النوع الثالث من العدسات المستخدمة لدى مرضى الماء الابيض داخل العين هو عدسات التأقلم، وهذا النوع من العدسات يعمل عن طريق الحركة داخل العين لمساعدتك في تركيز بصرك على مسافات مختلفة.

عدسات التأقلم هي الخيار الأنسب من أجل الرؤية البعيدة والمتوسطة لكنها غير مثالية من أجل الرؤية القريبة. وبسبب قابليتها للحركة فإن عدسات التأقلم تسمح بمجال طبيعي أكثر للرؤية بالمقارنة مع العدسات متعددة البؤرة.

ما الذي يجب توقعه بعد عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين؟

من المتوقع أن يتحسن النظر لديك بشكل تدريجي في غضون عدة أيام من إجراء العملية. قد تكون الرؤية لديك غائمة أو مشوشة أو غير واضحة في الأيام الأولى التي تلي العملية بينما تكون العين في طور التعافي والشفاء، ويستغرق الأمر عدة أيام حتى تنضبط وتعتاد على العدسات الجديدة.

التعافي والعناية وتعليمات بعد عملية الماء الابيض

من المرجَّح أن تشعر بالحكة وعدم الراحة لعدة أيام بعد إجراء العملية، وقد تحتاج لوضع ضماد أو غلاف حماية على العين وفق ما يطلبه الدكتور.

قد يصف لك الدكتور أيضاً قطرات عينية وأدوية من أجل تقليل الالتهاب والوقاية من العدوى وضبط ضغط العين.

بعد يوم أو اثنين من اجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض وزراعة العدسة ينبغي عليك مراجعة الطبيب، وبعد أسبوع وشهر سيكون من الضروري أن تجري فحصاً للنظر.

عادةً لن تستمر اعراض عملية ازالة الماء الابيض أكثر من عدة أيام، وعادةً ما يحدث الشفاء التام بعد حوالي ثمانية أسابيع.

فيما يلي بضع نصائح يجب اتباعها بعد عملية الماء الابيض:

  1. يجب استخدام قطرات العين بقدر ما وصفها الطبيب من زمن.
  2. حاول تجنب دخول الصابون أو الماء إلى العين.
  3. يجب ألا يتم فرك العين التي أجريت العملية لها أو الضغط عليها. قد يطلب منك الطبيب حتى ارتداء نظارات شمسية أو نوع من الغطاء الواقي لبعض الوقت.
  4. من المحتمل أن يتم حظر بعض الأنشطة البدنية مثل ممارسة الرياضة أو الأنشطة الأخرى التي تتطلب تركيزاً للنظر بعد الجراحة. وقد يشمل هذا منع القيادة والقراءة وما إلى ذلك.

مخاطر و مضاعفات عملية الماء الابيض في العين

على الرغم من ندرتها إلا أنه لا تزال توجد بعض الآثار الجانبية لعملية الساد في العين. وفيما يلي قائمة المضاعفات المحتملة التي قد أن تحدث أثناء إجراء الجراحة أو حتى في مرحلة ما بعد الجراحة:

  1. عدوى العين
  2. نزيف بسيط في العين
  3. استمرار التورم في الجزء الأمامي أو الداخلي للعين
  4. الألم المستمر الذي لا يبدو أنه يهدأ مع مرور الوقت
  5. تورم في شبكية العين
  6. فقدان أو انخفاض الرؤية
  7. أذية لأجزاء أخرى من العين (لكن هذه حالة نادرة جدًا)

جراحة ازالة الماء الابيض في ايران

تتمتع ايران بمجموعة كبيرة من أطباء العيون ذوي الخبرة العالية مع سجلات ذهبية. فقد تم إجراء آلاف عمليات العيون الناجحة بما في ذلك جراحة سحب الماء الابيض في ايران في السنوات الأخيرة بواسطة أطباء محترفين في المدن الكبرى مثل طهران وشيراز ومشهد وغيرها.

ووفقًا للدراسات المختلفة التي أجريت حول هذه المسألة فإن مضاعفات جراحة سحب الماء الابيض في ايران شهدت تراجعاً ملحوظا خلال السنوات الأخيرة. لذلك يمكن التأكد باطمئنان من أن المراكز الطبية والمستشفيات عالية التجهيز في ايران ستكون المكان الأمثل لإجراء هذا العلاج فيها.

تكلفة عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين في ايران

من حيث التكاليف يمكن اعتبار ايران في قائمة البلدان الأقل تكلفة لهذه العملية بالنسبة لباقي الدول التي تُجري هذه الجراحة بنفس المستوى الطبي. وليس من المستغرب أن تقدم المستشفيات الحديثة والعيادات المتخصصة في مختلف المدن الإيرانية الكبرى أفضل رعاية وخدمات للمرضى من جميع أنحاء العالم وذلك مقابل سعر أقل إلى حد كبير.

إن جراحة الماء الأبيض المعتادة التي هي في الواقع عملية شائعة في إيران ستكلف حوالي 1,500$ لكل عين، بينما سعر سحب الماء الابيض في معظم البلدان الأوروبية والأمريكية تبلغ ضعفي هذا المبلغ على أقل تقدير.

على سبيل المثال يبلغ سعر عملية الماء الابيض في الولايات المتحدة حوالي 7,000$. لذلك – مثلما هو واضح من مقارنة الاسعار – سيكون اجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض في ايران هو الخيار المعقول للناس في جميع أنحاء العالم.

نحن في شركة آريا مدتور نتشرف بأن نكون المضيفين للسياح الذين يسافرون الى ايران من مختلف أنحاء العالم من أجل إجراء جراحة علاج الماء الابيض للعين. ففي كل عام يسافر مئات الأشخاص إلى هذا البلد بحثاً عن مختلف العلاجات والعمليات الطبية بما في ذلك عمليات العيون، ويسعد طاقم العمل الذي لدينا بمساعدتهم في كل خطوة من استقبالهم في المطار وترتيب أماكن إقامتهم وصولاً إلى توفير المعلومات حول العلاج المقصود والعملية بأكملها. معنا يمكنك أن تطمئن إلى أنك في أيد أمينة!

إن كانت ما تزال لديك أية استفسارات أو أسئلة تتعلق بداء الماء الابيض في العين وعلاجه بشكل عام أو بإجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض في ايران على وجه الخصوص فيمكنك التواصل معنا في أي وقت عبر قنوات التواصل الخاصة بنا من أجل الحصول على استشارة مجانية خاصة بحالتك من أطبائنا الاستشاريين.

بهذا يمكنك جعل كل شيء واضحاً من أجل اتخاذ القرار حيال إجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض في ايران بمساعدتنا أو التفكير بخيارات أخرى.





أسئلة شائعة عن عملية ازالة الماء الابيض

هل عملية الماء الابيض سهله وآمنة؟

نعم، عملية ازالة الماء الابيض أو الساد هي من أكثر عمليات العين أماناً حتى من أجل الاشخاص الذين فوق الخامسة والستين من عمرهم.

هل عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين مؤلمة؟

لن تشعر بأي ألم أثناء العملية، وإن شعر بالألم فهو قليل جداً لأنه يتم تخدير العين قبل إجراء العملية. أما بعد العملية فعندما يزول مفعول التخدير فستشعر بألم بسيط عادةً ما يتم تخفيفه بتناول مسكنات الألم العادية التي يصفها لك الطبيب.

كم تكلفة عملية ازالة الماء الابيض من العين؟

تختلف التكلفة باختلاف البلد الذي تجري العملية فيه. تكلفة عملية الماء الابيض في ايران هي حوالي 1,500$ لكل عين.

هل يمكن إعادة إجراء عملية ازالة الماء الأبيض؟

لا يمكن استعادة عدستك الطبيعية المعتمة بالطبع، لكن يمكن إعادة توضيع العدسة الصناعية المزروعة أو حتى استبدالها بعدسة أخرى في حال حدث لها أي شيء، إلا أن هذا نادراً ما يحدث.

كم تستغرق عملية الماء الابيض؟

يتم إجراء عملية سحب الماء الابيض من العين في عيادة تخصصية وتستغرق أقل من ساعة واحدة.

هل يمكن إجراء عملية الساد في كلتا العينين في الوقت نفسه؟

هذا ممكن لكن لا يوصى به، فمعظم جراحي العيون يطلبون من مرضاهم أن ينتظروا حتى تشفى العين الأولى ليعودوا بعد عدة أيام أو عدة أسابيع من أجل إجراء العملية للعين الثانية.

هل تدوم نتائج عملية الماء الابيض مدى الحياة؟

بعد إجراء عمليه سحب الماء الابيض وزرع عدسه مكانه فإن عدسة باطن العين المزروعة في العين عادةً ما تدوم مدى الحياة.

هل عملية الماء الابيض تسبب الماء الازرق؟

رغم أن عملية الماء الابيض قد تتسبب في ارتفاع ضغط العين على المدى القصير (حوالي 24 ساعة بعد العملية) إلا أنه قد وُجد أنها تؤدي إلى انخفاض ضغط العين على المدى الطويل، وبالتالي فهي لا تسبب حدوث الماء الازرق في العين.

هل عملية سحب الماء الابيض تصحح الانحراف؟

باستخدام العدسات القرصية في عملية الماء الابيض يمكن تصحيح الانحراف، وهناك تقنية أخرى تدعى باسم شقوق الاسترخاء الحوفي يتم استخدامها اثناء عملية الماء الابيض من اجل تصحيح الانحراف، وفي هذه التقنية يتم إجراء شق على شكل قوس بالقرب من حافة القرنية بحيث يتم إعادة تشكيل القرنية بلطف على شكل أكثر كروية مما يؤدي بالتالي إلى التخلص من الانحراف.

هل ينتج جفاف العين بعد عملية الماء الابيض؟

لا تسبب عملية ازالة الماء الابيض جفاف العين، لكن إن كنت مسبقاً مصاباً بجفاف العين فقد يكون عليك أن تخضع لعلاج من أجل التخلص من جفاف العين قبل أن تجري عملية رفع الماء الابيض من العين حتى تحصل على طبقة دمعية سليمة لأن جفاف العين قد يؤدي إلى آثار سلبية على نتيجة عملية الماء الابيض.

ما هي مخاطر التأخر في علاج الساد بالعين أو حتى عدم علاجه؟

إذا لم تتم معالجة الماء الابيض بالعين لمدة من الزمن فإن قدرة الشخص على قيادة السيارة أو ممارسة المهام البسيطة التي تتطلب رؤية واضحة قد تتأثر سلباً كما قد يؤدي هذا بالأمر إلى فقدان الشخص للبصر في النهاية. ولهذا تأكد من استشارة طبيب العيون قبل أن يتأخر الوقت على إمكانية إجراء علاج مناسب.

فيديوهات تجارب مرضى العيون والعلاجات الطبية الأخرى

علاج انفصال الشبكية
طب العيون في ايران
عروض فصل الربيع الخاصة: احصل على حسومات حتى 10 % على كافة عمليات التجميلاحجز الآن
+

CATARACT SURGERY
IN IRAN

We sharpen your vision with the best eye surgeons
at modern hospitals at the most decent prices.

Suffering from cataract and are looking for the best option to travel to Iran for a cataract surgery on a budget? We help you do that by arranging your trip and surgery at the best hospitals. No need to worry about the inconvenience of traveling. We stand alongside you from the moment you step into Iran until you leave the country. To get a free consultation and free quote for a cataract surgery in Iran, fill in the above form. To learn more about cataract surgery, continue reading.

Cataract surgery: all you need to know

Simply put, the term cataract surgery addresses a sort of operation whose purpose is to remove the eye’s lens when it gets cloudy. The lens in your eye typically bends the light rays in order to enable you to see. Having a cataract is the approximate equivalent of having to see through the foggy or dusty windshield of your car, which wouldn’t be a comfortable situation for sure!

Through a surgery performed by an ophthalmologist, your cloudy lens is removed and discarded from the eye and replaced with an artificial lens. This surgery is ordinarily regarded as a minor one with minimum side effects; therefore, you would have very little to worry about.

Should I have cataract surgery?

Generally, if an individual suffers from blurred vision and has difficulty seeing clearly, they most probably need to have their eyes checked and if confirmed, they had better have the procedure as soon as possible. If a patient has such a condition in both eyes, separate surgeries would be performed several weeks apart on the eyes.

What to expect before cataract surgery?

The patient will be asked about the medicines he takes. The doctor might ask him to stop using some medications in certain circumstances. Also, eye drops might be prescribed a few days prior to the surgery in order to prevent infection and/or to reduce the risk of swelling during and after the procedure.

How is cataract surgery performed?

On the day of the surgery, the patient may be asked not to eat solid food at least 6 hours prior to the time of his procedure. The affected eye would be numbed with the use of eye drops or through an injection to the side of the eye.

Certain medications might be given to the patient to help him relax. The patient will be awake during the surgery and aware of some movements and light yet not able to see what the doctor does to the eye; so, there would be nothing much to worry about!

Stitches will not be necessary for cataract surgery. The so-called “self-sealing” incisions will naturally heal after some time. Some sort of a patch or shield will cover your eye until your doctor deems that it is time for the cover to be removed.

In cataract surgery, a tiny opening is created in the eye through which the natural lens of the eye, which has become cloudy, is removed and is replaced with an artificial lens, known as intraocular lens (IOL).

Cataract surgery options

There are different techniques for cataract surgery. A good surgeon discusses with you the differences between the two technique and helps you understand which one is better for you.

phacoemulsification

The first type of cataract surgery is phacoemulsification or phaco. In this technique, a micro-incesion (around 3 millimeters wide) is made at the edge of the cornea. Since the incision is very small, stitches are often not needed. With an ultrasound-based technique called phacoemulsification, the cloudy lens is then extracted through the incision.

Extracapsular surgery

This technique involves a larger incision (typically 10–12 mm) on the side of the cornea. The cloudy core of the lens is first removed through the opening and the remaining part of the lens is suctioned out. This technique is best for patients who have very hard cataracts or for those unsuited for phacoemulsification option.

FemtoPhaco

Also referred to as ‘laser cataract surgery’, or ‘laser-assisted cataract surgery’, FemtoPhaco involves a combination of Femto laser treatment and phacoemulsification.

A Femtosecond laser is used during the initial steps of cataract surgery, namely creation of corneal incisions, capsulorhexis, and “softening” of the cataract. The main part of the procedure, however, is still performed with an ultrasound handpiece (Phaco).

Having created an incision and removed the eye’s cloudy lens through one of the above methods, the surgeon usually inserts an artificial lens (intraocular lens) into your eye. With no lens implantation, you would become hyperopic or farsighted and have to wear glasses or contact lenses in order to have a clear vision.

Types of cataract lenses

Cataract lenses come in three main types: monofocal, multifocal, and accommodating lenses. Each type of lens has its own benefits and meets certain needs. To better understand what cataract lens is right for you, some elaboration is needed.

Monofocal IOLs

Monofocal IOLs are the most common types of cataract lenses. As the standard option for most cases, monofocal lenses have only one focusing distance, depending on your preferences, i.e. near, far, or intermediate distance.

Monofocal IOLs allows patients to focus on things at a particular distance. If you suffer from astigmatism, a toric lens (an IOL that is shaped in a particular shape) works better than a standard monofocal lens.

It might be interesting that you can get two monofocal lenses for two different distances, which is called ‘monovision’. For example, you can have a lens for far vision and another for intermediate distance.

This has its own benefits and drawbacks. While you can see clearly at various distances, you will experience changes in depth perception as the two eyes don’t work together.

It is noteworthy that if you opt for a distance or medium distance monofocal lens, you’ll need eyeglasses for reading, and vice versa, i.e. if you choose to improve your short-sightedness, you’ll need to wear glasses for driving, for instance.

Multifocal IOLs

As the name suggests, monofocal IOLs allow for vision focused at different distances – similar to varifocal glasses. After cataract surgery with multifocal lenses, your need for contact lenses and glasses after cataract surgery is greatly reduced.

Pros and cons of multifocal lenses

Most patients (85%) won’t need to wear contact lenses or glasses after getting multifocal IOLs in both eyes. Therefore, multifocal lenses are usually recommended for those who can have them implanted in both eyes. It is most suitable for those who don’t suffer from any eye diseases.

Multifocal IOLs often provides excellent near and distance vision. For those who work at a computer all day, for example, this type of lenses is the right choice.

Some patients (5-10 percent) who have this type of lens implanted may experience glare or halos at night, especially immediately after the procedure, but they often confirm that they are able to get used to it after a short time.

Cataract patients who get multifocal lenses may have struggle with contrast, that is to say, they may find it difficult to read something in dim light.

Another disadvantage of multifocal IOLs is that they are not good for patients with astigmatism. However, research has been conducted to develop multifocal toric lenses, though it’s not clear when they will be available for use.

Accommodating IOLs

The third type of lens used for cataract patients is accommodating IOL. This type of lens functions by moving inside the eye the help you focus on targets at various distances. Accommodating lenses are best for distance and medium distance vision, and is not ideal for short distance.

Because of the physical movement, accommodating lenses allow a more natural range of vision compared to multifocal lenses. For a more detailed elaboration on the differences between multifocal lenses and accommodation lenses, take a look at this article.

What to expect after cataract surgery?

Your vision is expected to improve gradually within a few days after surgery. You may have a cloudy, distorted or blurry vision during the first days following surgery when the eye is healing. It takes a few days for your eye to adjust and get used to the new lens.

Cataract surgery recovery and post-operative care

You’ll probably feel a little itching and discomfort for a few days after surgery. You may need to wear an eye patch or protective shield as instructed by your doctor.

Your doctor may also prescribe eye drops and medications to reduce inflammation, prevent infection, and control eye pressure.

A day or two after surgery you should visit your doctor for a follow-up. After one week and one month, a check-up by an ophthalmologist will be necessary.

Normally after a few days, you won’t have much discomfort. Full recovery typically occurs after some eight weeks.

Here are some instructions to follow during the recovery period of a cataract surgery:

  1. Eye drops will have to be used for as long as your doctor prescribes.
  2. Try to avoid soap or water from entering into the eye.
  3. The recovering eye must not be rubbed or pressured. The doctor might even ask you to wear sunglasses or a kind of shield for some time.
  4. Certain physical activities such as exercising or other activities which require serious involvement of your vision will probably be prohibited after the surgery. These could include driving, reading, etc.

Cataract surgery risks and complications

Although rare and temporary, there might be some side-effects after cataract surgery. Here is a list of the probable complications that could occur while the surgery is done or even in a post-operative phase:

  1. Eye infection
  2. Minor bleeding of the eye
  3. Continuing swelling of the front or interior of the eye
  4. Persistent pain which does not seem to subside over time
  5. Swelling of the retina
  6. Loss or decline of vision
  7. Damage to other parts of the eye (very rare case)

Cataract surgery procedure in Iran

Iran enjoys a host of experienced and highly-successful ophthalmologists with golden records. Thousands of successful eye surgeries, including cataract surgery, have been done in recent years by professional doctors in major cities of Iran such as Tehran, Shiraz, Mashhad, etc.

According to various studies done on the issue, complications of cataract surgery in Iran has had a decreasing trend during recent years; therefore, one can be safely assured that the highly-equipped medical centers and hospitals in Iran would be the optimal place to have this treatment done.

Cataract surgery cost in Iran

In terms of costs, Iran can be considered among the most affordable countries in which to have such an operation. Not surprisingly, modern hospitals and specialized clinics in various major Iranian cities offer the best care and services to patients from around the world and are considerably affordable as well.

A routine cataract surgery, which in fact is a quite commonplace procedure in Iran, would cost something in the neighborhood of 1500 USD for each eye while the cost of the same operation in most European and American countries would amount to at least 100 percent more.

For example, the cost of a cataract surgery in the US is approximately 5,000 USD without insurance. Therefore, as one may perceive, having the treatment done in Iran would be the sensible choice for people the world over.

We, at AriaMedTour, are honored to be the host of cataract surgery patients from various parts of the world. Every year, hundreds of people travel to Iran in search of diverse medical treatments and operations, including eye surgery, and our staff members are glad to assist them through every step of the way from collecting passengers at the airport to arranging their accommodation to providing the information on the intended treatment and the whole process of recovery. With us, you can rest assured that you are in good hands!

If you have read the whole article and still have questions regarding a cataract surgery or a cataract surgery in Iran, you can contact us anytime via our communication channels to get a free online personalized consultation from our medical consultants.

This way you can have everything cleared up and make your decision whether to have cataract surgery in Iran with the help of us or think about other options.

Frequently Asked Questions About Cataract Surgery

Is cataract surgery safe?

Yes, cataract surgery is one of the safest eye procedures – even for people over 65.

Is cataract surgery painful?

During the surgery, there is little or no pain as numbing drops are used. After surgery, when the sedative medications wear off, you will feel a mild discomfort which can be greatly reduced using over-the-counter pain killers.

How much does cataract surgery cost?

It depends on where you want to have it. The cost of an average cataract surgery in Iran costs around $1500 for each eye.

Can cataract surgery be redone?

Your own cloudy lens that have been removed cannot be put back, of course. But the implanted artificial lens you receive can be repositioned or even replaced in case there is something wrong with it, which rarely happens.

How long does a cataract surgery take?

Cataract surgery is an outpatient procedure that takes less than one hour.

Can I have cataract surgery on both eyes at once?

It is possible but not recommended. Most surgeons ask their patients to wait until one eye heals then come back a few days or a few weeks later for the second eye.

Does cataract surgery last a lifetime?

The IOL you receive in a cataract surgery typically lasts forever.

Can cataract surgery cause glaucoma?

Although cataract surgery might cause a rise in intraocular pressure (IOP) in short term (24 hours after surgery), it has been found to cause a reduction in IOP in long term. Therefore, it doesn’t cause glaucoma.

Does cataract surgery correct astigmatism?

By using toric lenses in cataract surgery, stigmatism can be corrected. There is another technique called limbal relaxing incisions (LRI) for cataract surgery that can correct stigmatism. In this technique, one or more arc-shaped incisions are made near the periphery of the cornea, so that the cornea is gently reshaped into a more spherical shape, hence eliminating astigmatism.

Can you have cataract surgery twice?

It doesn’t make sense to have a second cataract surgery because once your natural lens is removed during the first surgery, you won’t get another cataract. However, there is a condition called posterior capsule opacity or posterior capsule opacification (PCO) or ‘after-cataract’, also wrongly called ‘secondary-cataract’, in which lens epithelial cells migrate to the posterior capsule and cause dimness of vision. PCO can easily be treated by a non-invasive procedure called the YAG Laser Posterior Capsulotomy.

Does cataract surgery cause dry eyes?

Cataract surgery does not cause dry eyes, but if you have a pre-existing dry eye condition you might have to undergo a dry eye treatment before your cataract surgery to get a healthy tear layer, because dry eyes can have negative effects on the outcome of your cataract surgery.

What are the risks of delayed treatment or untreated cataract?

If left untreated for an extended period of time, one’s ability to drive or to perform other simple tasks which require clear vision might become affected or the individual might eventually become blind. Thus, make sure to consult your ophthalmologist before it is too late for a suitable treatment.

Patients’ Testimonial Videos